

PLEASE POST

HEU-sponsored journalism student scholarships announced

The Jack Webster Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2007 Student Journalism Awards, co-sponsored for the second year by the Hospital Employees' Union.

The awards – which started in 2001 to provide \$2,000 tuition scholarships for B.C. students who have excelled in and shown dedication to their journalism craft – will be presented in Vancouver on October 22 during the annual Jack Webster Awards dinner.

The HEU-sponsored recipients are Tamara Cunningham, Thompson Rivers University; Aaron Joseph, Kwantlen University College, and Justine Davidson, Langara College.

"We're very pleased to be supporting the studies of these talented journalism students," says HEU secretary-business manager Judy Darcy.

Other winners include Allison Cross, UBC; Tim Petruk, Thompson Rivers University, and Brent Shearer and Teresa Tang from BCIT.

"We're very appreciative of the recognition by BC Hydro and the Hospital Employees' Union of the importance of supporting access to education for future journalists," says Neil Soper, co-chair of the Jack Webster Foundation.

The B.C.-based Foundation was established in 1986 to promote and recognize excellence in journalism in the name of Jack Webster, a Scottish-born news reporter who pioneered Canadian talk radio and TV. Webster died in 1999 after 68 years in the media industry.

To date, 72 B.C. students have received Jack Webster Foundation Student Journalism Awards.

For more information, visit www.jackwebster.com.

October 14, 2007